The Pepys Book Award 2017

The Samuel Pepys Award was established by the Samuel Pepys Club in 2001 as a biennial prize given for a publication that, in the opinion of the judges, “makes the greatest contribution to the understanding of Samuel Pepys, his times or his contemporaries in the interest of encouraging scholarship in this area and advancing the education of the public in his works”.  It was first presented in 2003 to mark the centenary of the Club and the tercentenary of Pepys’s death. 

Winners are presented with £2,000 and a specially commissioned medal designed by Philip Nathan in memory of Robert Latham, the co-editor of the definitive 11 volume edition of Pepys’s diary.

The Award 2017

Entry for the 2017 Award is open to material published between 1 July 2015 and 30 June 2017.  To apply please use the application form here: Samuel Pepys Submission Form 2017.

Submissions should be made on the enclosed form, and sent with five copies of each book or five proofs of each book by 30 June 2017 to: Dr William Pettigrew, The Samuel Pepys Award, School of History, Rutherford College, University of Kent, Canterbury, Kent, CT2 7NX

%d bloggers like this: